Encounter at Alpenrose

. . . an Iris Bromige title

Encounter at Alpenrose (1970), cover art by Studio Stead
Hodder and Stoughton (1970)

On holiday people seem different, are different. This is Kate's own story of her month in a delectable Austrian village where John Castleford, the kind, safe older man she was on the verge of marrying, and Gareth, who made a totally unexpected appearance - she had broken off her engagement to him quite finally four years before - both showed themselves in a new light. Nor was Kate herself the composed and competent woman for whom John had such admiration and affection. In these surroundings she was adventurous, happy, but also disturbed by deep feelings she had thought quelled in her long ago.

Encounter at Alpenrose (1972)
Coronet Books (1972)

Kate had never stopped running since her broken engagement to Gareth Ferrion four years ago. Now, on this Austrian holiday, she wanted to pause to take stock. It was to be a peaceful interlude when she would gather material for her book and decide whether to accept John Castleford's proposal.

But an unexpected encounter with Gareth shattered the careful pattern of the life she thought she had so well under control, and Kate found herself disturbed by deep feelings she had thought quelled in her long ago.

IPC Magazines - Woman's Weekly Images of Love
Vol 5 No 13 (1988)

Kate Danville broke off her engagement to Gareth Ferrion because she had to prove to herself that she was more than this powerful man's shadow. Now, four years later, she was well on the way to becoming a successful author. But she decided she needed a holiday and set off for Austria, soon followed by John Castleford, the man who wanted to marry her. Their first evening at the Alpenrose Hotel brought a surprise when Kate came face to face with Gareth again ...

Date Publisher Binding Remarks
1970 Hodder and Stoughton hardback
1972 Coronet Books paperback Second Impression 1973
1988 IPC Magazines paperback Woman's Weekly Images of Love (Vol 5 No 13)

<> Home <> Biography <> Titles <> Characters <> Locations <> Rainwoods <>